Star Transit Announces Driver and Employee of the Year

Richard Powe & Eleanor Luttrell

Two individuals were honored at the 1st annual STAR Transit Employee Appreciation Dinner. Eleanor Luttrell was announced as the 2016 Driver of the Year and Richard Powe was announced as the 2016 Employee of the Year.

Nominees for Driver of the Year included Luttrell along with Donna Harwood, Felicia Smith, Brock Vawter, Enock Watson, Max Whitworth, Gary Williams and Dale Wilkins.

Mrs. Luttrell celebrated her 1st anniversary with STAR Transit in March and drives in Rockwall County. Aaron Reece, Director of Road Supervision said, “Eleanor is a fantastic driver and very well respected among her peers and passengers. She is truly deserving of this award”.

As the recipient of Driver of the Year, Mrs. Luttrell received $1,000.00.

Nominees for Employee of the Year included Powe along with Ashley Ando, Kenyatta Brown, Joel Elam, Antonio Harris, Donna Harris, Trisha Janicek, Mitcheeko King, Chelsie Mahan, Lisa Stuart, Shelby Ward and Dee Dorsey.

Mr. Powe celebrated his 8th anniversary in May. Omega Hawkins, Executive Director said, “Richard is the epitome of a hard worker and the kind of employee STAR Transit is lucky to have. He wears many hats and does so with a positive attitude. He represents this title well.”

As the recipient of Employee of the Year, Mr. Powe received $500.00 and 2 paid days off.

STAR Transit launched the Employee of the Year and Driver of the Year initiative in September of 2015. These programs aim to recognize outstanding employees we have on our team.

Congratulations to Eleanor and Richard!

Back to All News »

News Archive